Cercle des Mémoires Musée

Experience the lifestyle of French Newfoundlanders as you are guided through this museum by bilingual interpreters. View the artifacts exhibit and enter into the everyday life of the first people to live in the three French communities of the Port au Port peninsula: Mainland, Cape St. George and Black Duck Brook. Artifacts relate to the role of religion in the lives of the settlers who attended the first schools of the area and also include unique household equipment, some dating back to 1863, used to provide clothing and other necessities for the area’s families. Another focus at the Museum is subsistance agriculture and farming equipment used by French-Newfoundlanders in the Mainland area. Artifacts on display include saws, cream dividers, etc.

Located in Mainland, on the French Ancestor’s Route scenic drive on the Port au Port peninsula, route 463

Free admission

Archive

Gift shop and tea room

Listing Details

Address
C.P. 190, R.R. #1, Mainland, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A0N 1R0
Telephone
709-642-5254
Fax
709-642-5164
E-mail
Hours
Open: daily July 1st to August 31st 11:00am-6:00pm or by appointment
Map
Driving Directions