Jacob A. Crocker House

228.jpg
228.jpg
229.jpg
230.jpg
231.jpg
232.jpg
Jacob A. Crocker House is a two-storey biscuit box style house built circa 1898 and is a representative example of an early twentieth century fisherman's dwelling in this area and Western Newfoundland in general. The home was built by Jacob A. Crocker, Sr., grandson of George Crocker of Dorsetshire, England, one of the first settlers in Trout River. From the days of early settlement, life in this community was orientated to the sea and generations made a living from it. Through several generations residents of the Jake Crocker House were participants in this tradition and the building stands as a testament to this way of life.

The Town of Trout River operates a museum in the Jake Crocker House, focusing interpretation on the importance of the fishery to the community in the past and to this day. The Heritage Foundation designated the Jake Crocker House a Registered Heritage Structure in March 2003.

Listing Details

Address
245-247 Main Street, Trout River, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A0K 5P0
Telephone
709-451-5376
Fax
709-451-2127
E-mail
Hours
Seasonal (open during summer months). See Town of Trout River website for events times
Map
Driving Directions